> Home / College / Indira Gandhi Institute of Physical Education and Sports Sciences (IGIPESS)
About College

Indira Gandhi Institute of Physical Education and Sports Sciences (IGIPESS) is one of the leading institution in country with the Department of Physical Education & Sports Sciences under the Faculty of Inter-Disciplinary and Applied Sciences, University of Delhi offering all the categories of teacher training courses in physical education.

IGIPESS was established on 3rd August, 1987 by the Delhi Administration under the auspices of the University of Delhi. The institute is named after Late Mrs. Indira Gandhi, the first lady Prime Minister of India. At the instance of University Grants Commission and based on professional advice of institutions like:

  • Lakshmibai National Institute of Physical Education (Gwalior),
  • Netaji Subhash Institute of Sports (Patiala), and
  • Central Health Education Bureau (Delhi),

A three year degree course viz. B.Sc. (Physical Education, Health Education and Sports) was started in the institute in 1987. It also now offers B.P.Ed. (Bachelor of Physical Education, One year) and M.P.Ed. (Master of Physical Education, Two year) courses recognized by National Council of Teacher Education (N.C.T.E.). The institute has well-qualified staff, adequately staff, adequately equipped laboratories and rich library with latest books and research journals.

To start with, Dr. J. S. Naruka, Director, Physical Education of Delhi University Sports Council was appointed as officer on Special Duty (OSD) to perform the duties of the Principal w.e.f. 3rd August, 1987. The Institute started its working from the premises of Chhattrasal Stadium Model Town to at Ludlow Castle Sports Complex, Sham Nath Marg, Delhi (1987 to 1990). The Institute was shifted to present premises in the years 1990.

  • Dr.(Mrs.) Kiran Sandhu worked as Officiating Principal from August, 1990 to March, 1991.
  • Dr. D. K. Kansal was appointed the first Principal of the institute on regular basis in 8th March 1991 and retired on 31st August 2015 in between
  • Dr. Dhananjoy Shaw served as Officiating Principal from 30.05.2013 to October, 2013.
  • At present, Dr. Dhananjoy Shaw working as Officiating Principal since 1st September, 2015 onwards.

Courses Introduced

  1. Bachelor of Science in Physical Education, Health Education & Sports - B.Sc. (P.E.,H.E. & S.) : August, 1987
  2. Bachelor of Physical Education - B.P.Ed.: August, 1990
  3. Master of Physical Education - M.P.Ed.: July, 1994
  4. Doctor of Philosophy in Physical Education (Dept. of Phy.Edu.S.S. Delhi University)-Ph.D.: 2004 onward

List Of College Departments 

  • Athletics
  • Behavioral Sciences
  • Extension Services
  • Gymnastics
  • Health Education
  • Humanities
  • Individual Games
  • Natural/ Medical Sciences
  • Team Games


  • Physiotherapy Lab
  • Biomechanics Lab
  • Exercise Physiology Lab
  • Anatomy & Physiology Lab
  • Medical 
  • Audio Visual Room
  • Computer Lab
  • Behavioural Science lab
  • Yoga Lab
College Facilities
Computer lab
Contact Details

B-Block, Vikaspuri, New Delhi

New Delhi Delhi 110018

Phone: +011-28544497, 011-28543753
Fax: 011-28549003
Email: principal@igipess.du.ac.in
Website: www.igipess.du.ac.in

Course Type: Degree
Fees: Rs. 9756/- Per Year
Study Mode: Full Time
1 Year
Course Type: Degree
Fees: Rs. 9740/- Per Year
Study Mode: Full Time
3 Years
Course Type: Degree
Fees: Rs. 9750/- Per Year
Study Mode: Full Time
2 Years

Similar Colleges:
University of Calcutta
Kolkata , West Bengal
Velammal Engineering College
Chennai , Tamil Nadu
Vishveshwarya Group of Institutions
Greater Noida , Uttar Pradesh
AD Patel Institute of Technology
Vallabh Vidyanagar , Gujarat
ASN Pharmacy College
Guntur , Andhra Pradesh
Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya
Bilaspur , Chhattisgarh
Adaikalamatha College
Thanjavur , Tamil Nadu
Adams Engineering College
Paloncha , Andhra Pradesh
AISSMS College of Pharmacy
Pune , Maharashtra
Ajay Kumar Garg Engineering College
Ghaziabad , Uttar Pradesh
Al Ameen College of Pharmacy
Bangalore , Karnataka
Al Ameen Degree College
Bangalore , Karnataka
T John College of Pharmacy
Bangalore , Karnataka
Back to top
Get Indira Gandhi Institute of Physical Education and Sports Sciences (IGIPESS)
Admission Form 2023